Skip to content

Happy European Day of Languages!

September 26, 2009

I just found out yesterday by catching a glimpse of an article on the Deutsch Perfekt website that today is European Day of Languages, and it just happens to be on the day before my birthday, how nice!

The European Day of Languages has been celebrated since 2001. Here is a quote from the introduction on the website.

Being convinced that linguistic diversity is a tool for achieving greater intercultural understanding and a key element in the rich cultural heritage of our continent, the Council of Europe promotes plurilingualism in the whole of Europe.

When I first came to Europe I thought that it was so cool that you could drive through a border and be in a completely different place with a completely new language and different culture. Where I am in Austria right now is very close to the Hungarian border, and I love that you can drive across the “border” (no more passport control since over a year ago) and there is this completely new language that is nothing like German.

I’m glad that the Council of Europe has made the effort to designate a day for languages and that they recognize the role of languages in maintaining the diversity that makes Europe so cool.

Celebrate today in any way you can! Work a little hard on your own language learning (European language or other!), read a little about a new European language or culture, or spread the word about European Day of Languages in your own blog.

The website lists some ideas on how you can participate.

EVERYONE really can get involved in the European Day of Languages, even if it is just about inviting neighbours from different cultures for tea or decorating the house with the European Day of Languages posters and stickers. You may not become a polyglot in the space of a day but it is likely to widen your horizons and it will almost certainly be an enjoyable and fulfilling experience!

Well I’m not sure if I would decorate my house with European Day of Languages posters or stickers… ah who am I kidding, I totally would if I had them. šŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a comment