Skip to content

Deutsch Perfekt – A great magazine for German learners

September 28, 2009

Last month I was doing a month-long intensive German course at the University of Vienna. Since where I am currently staying with my boyfriend is just a little bit too far from Vienna to commute every weekday to get there on time for class by 9:15am, I was staying in a friend’s spare room in Vienna. My friend is from England but has lived here for a long time and speaks German extremely well. One night, she asked me if I had heard of the magazine “Deutsch Perfekt”. As I hadn’t, she then showed me her old copies from 2006 and I fell in love!

Deutsch Perfekt is a magazine directed to German learners (primarily, but not exclusively, aimed towards those who are living in German speaking countries.)

The magazine is full of great resources. It has articles on various topics such as culture, society, politics and everyday life in German speaking countries. The articles are in three different colour-coded difficulty levels based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. Yellow for Leicht, Orange for Mittelschwer, and purple for Schwer. Some words in the articles are bolded, and after each article the selected vocabulary is explained in simple German.

It also has collectible cards with little tips (For example, tips on when to use Sie and when to use Du.) It had a feature in 2006 (unfortunately the magazines I have are a bit old!) that spanned over four months called “100 Tipps für besseres Deutsch”, which I really enjoyed. Some tips were: “Buy a “Deutsch als Fremdsprache” dictionary instead of always looking up the words in your native language”, or, “Ask people for the time or for directions whenever you can, even if you already know, use every opportunity to speak!”, and “Listen to other peoples conversations when you are out and about”. (The last two examples are of course for people who are living in German speaking countries!)

The magazine has an accompanying website which I haven’t had a good look-through yet, but seems to be rich with resources. (articles, news, audio files that accompany the magazine, wort of the day with audio, etc.)

I’ve only got a few copies from my friend, I think I’m going to ask her if I could buy all of old ones from her because they really are great!

Check out Deutsch Perfekt on their website.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 9:57 am

    This sounds perfect, I might get a subscription for it for my girlfriend who is just starting to get really good at German.
    She made some German grammar lessons (some with audio) here:
    http://www.mylanguagenotebook.com/learn_german.aspx

    All the best,
    Jim

    • September 29, 2009 11:56 am

      Sounds like a good idea, I think Deutsch Perfekt is best for Intermediate – Advanced learners. I will check out the German lessons later today, thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. More praise for Spotlight Verlag! « ich estudio langues

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

