Skip to content

My online ÖSD German resources

January 7, 2010

I’m currently preparing for my ÖSD B2 German exam, which is next weekend! Ack! I’m sure it will be okay, but it’s still a bit nerve-wracking!

I thought that I would share some of my online German resources on here. (It will also help me keep track of them to list them all in one place!) I hope those of you out there learning German will find some of these links useful. They are largely Austrian-based sources, but there are some sources from Germany as well. If you know of any other good online German resources, please leave a comment!🙂

Listening:

Online Austrian radio:
Radio OE1
Radio OE3
Radio FM4

These are the three stations that I listen to the most, FM4 is my favourite but unfortunately there is a LOT of English, especially in the morning. I try to have one of these constantly running in the background.

For a great list of where you can listen to German radio (from Germany, Austria and Switzerland) online, click here.

Deutsche Welle
Video-Thema – Short videos with transcripts and comprehension questions.
Langsam Gesprochene Nachrichten – Daily international news headlines in German, spoken slowly.
Top-Thema – Audio and text with comprehension questions and vocabulary list at the end.

There are a LOT of other great German resources on Deutsche Welle, it is a must visit for German learners, from just-starting-out to advanced.

For a list of other online places to watch German TV and other videos, click here.

Podcasts:
Schlaflos in München I have recently started to listen to this podcast. I’m a big fan of Annik’s Slow German podcast, definitely check them both out!

Reading:

Online Austrian news websites:
ORF.at
Der Standard

German websites for learners of German:
Deutsch Perfekt
DeutschLern.net

Germany:
Frankfürter Allegemeine Zeitung – Germany’s New York Times

For a great list of German news websites click here.

Writing:

So far I do all of my foreign language writing practice on Lang-8. If you aren’t familiar with Lang-8 I suggest you click that link now!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 4:38 pm

    Thanks for these resources! I’m finally getting serious with German after so many years of French. I love DW’s podcasts. I wish other countries would produce language learning material like that.

  2. January 19, 2010 1:46 pm

    No problem! Good luck with your German!🙂

Leave a Reply

