Skip to content

Tidbit Thursday: Language things of the week

November 19, 2009

Alright so I just got the idea that every Thursday (since I got the idea today and today happens to be Thursday!) I will write a post on cool little language-related things that I have discovered or am using this week. It will be called “Tidbit Thursday”. The things I post will either be pictures of actual things that I actually have in my possession, or internet resources I have stumbled upon during the week.

So here’s what I’ve got for you the first Tidbit Thursday:

It’s time for: Wheel of Irregular Spanish Verb Conjugation!
Die Hueber Unregelmäßige Verben Spanisch Sprachdrehscheibe

I found this neat little thing at Frick Buchhandlung on Kärntner Straße in Vienna today while I was passing time after my German class before my bus left. I was browsing around the language section and came across these little wheels! They are made up of three plastic circles with irregular Spanish verbs printed around the edge of the largest circle of both sides, the German translation of the infinitive verb directly under the Spanish one, and then through little cut-outs on the circle the conjugations are shown. It cost €3,90 and I think it was worth it. It will be handy to have nearby. They had a lot of other ones too, I may have to check back again one day!

Itty-bitty dictionary:  Österreichisch – Deutsch


Now this was an impulse buy at the checkout. I thought it was cute, but it will also be useful as there are a lot of words that are different in Austrian German. It’s super tiny too, so I can bring it around with me in my bag!

Grammar Girl helps you with your English grammar, and makes it fun!


Mignon Forgarty is Grammar Girl and I discovered her website and podcast through bab.la’s list of  Top 100 Language Blogs of 2009. I began following Grammar Girl on Twitter and noticed that she had a new book coming out so I decided to pick it up when I was at home in Canada. Well I accidently got the wrong book, but it doesn’t matter because it’s still good! Now that I am actually writing a blog, I figured I should be always trying to improve my writing. Also, I have my laptop set to German so the spellcheck is checking for German words, so I need to be extra careful about my writing, and it is likely that mistakes are slipping through! Grammar Girl makes complex grammar questions simple with short but informative podcasts. I have just begun reading this book but I look forward to reading it over the next week.

Grammar Girl on Twitter
Official Grammar Girl website

A light read for language lovers: Biting the Wax Tadpole: Confessions of a Language Fanatic


When I was visiting my parents I went with my mom to Chapters. I went off to the language section and ten minutes later I returned like a kid with her arms full of toys saying “Pleeease mom! Can I have them? Pleeease!” except replace toys with grammar and language books. :)
This is an extremely neat little book best described as a language scrapbook. It contains little anecdotes, illustrations, tidbits of information and much more on the world’s languages. You can find out more about this book and the author Elizabeth Little on her website.


That’s it for this Tidbit Thursday, I will continue next week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 7:25 pm

    Hi,
    I have got one of those language wheel things for German. Very good!
    I have a suggestion for one of your thusday tidbits…
    …MLN Player is a player for language lessons/notes (with audio) that can be embedded into any website/blog just like embedding a youtube video.
    Here is what a Llanito lesson would look like in your blog:

    http://www.mylanguagenotebook.com/view_project_2.aspx?projectID=103&lang=language&sitetype=ichestudiolangues&content=lessons/notes

    Anyone can make their own lessons/notes with audio and embed them in their blog. Also, you are free to use anyone elses lessons that have been uploaded to the MLN site.

    Ok, this is my program😉 but it is totally FREE!

  2. December 10, 2009 3:17 pm

    I’m checking it out right now and will write about it later today! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

