Skip to content

Hungarian online resources Part 1

October 3, 2009

I have been browsing the internet during the past two days for some useful online Hungarian resources. I am still looking for resources but since I’m due to update you guys (my visit counter shows that people are actually reading this blog!) on what I have found, here are the best two that I have found so far:

Podcast: Let’s learn Hungarian
http://www.letslearnhungarian.net
A podcast and website for learners of Hungarian presented by Steve and Györgyi

The podcast is presented by an American, Steve, and a Hungarian, Györgyi. The podcasts begin with a review of the last podcast with a small test, followed by a short dialogue repeated a few times and vocabulary review. The website has all of the dialogues for the lessons available for free. The blog also has a post with a link to Hungarian music on Last.fm and a book recommendation about expatriates in Budapest.

So far there are 10 regular beginner lessons and then 2 “Survival lessons”. I think that the two presenters were together in the US and then Györgyi went back to Hungary and Steve had to wait awhile before he went over as well, so he had to do two podcasts by himself and since he is not the native speaker, he had to go back to the basics. The “Survival lessons” are designed for people who are going to Hungary for a trip need a few basic phrases to help them get around.

I have listened to a few episodes so far, following along with the dialogue text on the website and reviewing the new vocabulary on Anki after, and it has been helpful. This is definitely my favourite Hungarian online learning resource that I have found so far and it is perfect for beginners!

Website: Hungarotips
http://www.hungarotips.com/hungarian

I think Hungarotips has been around for awhile as it has always been the first website I ended up going to on those odd days during the past few years where I decided “Okay, I need to go and finally learn Hungarian!” but then unfortunately gave up usually on that same day. But, the little Hungarian I do know is mostly from this website!

Hungarotips is a pretty basic looking website with some good content. It has an Alphabet and pronounciation guide with sound files. There are also grammar explanations, quizes, puzzles, and hangman. It also has vocabulary lists with sound files and sample sentences. It has a beginner, intermediate and advanced section. It also provides links to information about the Hungarian language and it’s Uralic language family.

The Hungarian resources online seem to be few and far between. The “Let’s learn Hungarian!” podcast is quite good but more than a month has passed since their last podcast, and nearly a month since their last Tweet so I hope they haven’t given up yet!

I am still on the search for new Hungarian online resources and I will post another blog entry similar to this within the next few days. If anyone happens to know any good Hungarian online resources, please leave a comment!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2009 2:55 am

    Thanks for the kind words about our podcast in your blog! Actually Györgyi and I were in Japan together, but moved back to Hungary last year and just got too busy/distracted to keep it going. We would like to start it up again though and reading things like this really motivate us to do so.

  2. October 15, 2009 9:25 pm

    Hi Steven! I’m glad you got a little motivation from my post, your podcast is definitely needed as there is a definite lack in Hungarian learning resources online! Thanks for commenting!

  3. July 4, 2010 11:53 pm

    Pleeeaseee continue with podcast!!!!!

Leave a Reply

