Skip to content

Hungarian

September 29, 2009
tags:

I think I have just decided to start really learning Hungarian. It’s about time!

I have been with my boyfriend for two and a half years now and we have spent a lot of time in Hungary because he is originally from there. His family lives here in Austria so I have also spent a lot of time here as well. After our first summer together here we went to Canada and I learned some German at University because it was the only one of the two languages offered. I’ve gotten pretty good in German during the past two and a half years (from thinking that “Gesundheit!” was just some weird sounding word that people said when somene sneezed and not realizing it was the German word for “health”, to being almost ready to study at the University of Vienna) but I still cannot count to ten in Hungarian.

My boyfriends parents only speak German and Hungarian, the rest of his family only speaks Hungarian. Why have I put it off for so long? I’m really not sure!

So as of now, I am officially adding it to my language-learning tasks! I’m going to go collect some internet resources.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 9:20 pm

    Good luck with your journey in Hungarian. Like you I love languages and right now I am learning Estonian. Having a native speaking partner is the best way to learn the language. I would never be where I am now in the language without the experience of living in Estonia and interacting with native speakers.

    Good luck with the blog! I’ll be back…

Leave a Reply

